编辑与广告 - 有何不同之处?

寻找完美的照片不论是用于印刷还是在线用途,都需要对图片的属性进行缜密的考虑。但在考虑哪张照片的光线效果更佳或模特最具吸引力之前,必须先明确一个根本的区别。或许对内容进行分类最重要的方法是确定其属于编辑内容还是广告内容。

不过分类虽然看似简单,但并不意味着您很容易就能掌握分类,以及了解分类如何对图片用途造成影响。一个人在不知情的情况下,突然发现自己的面孔出现在并未事先征得本人同意的公司或公益广告中,类似的图片许可失误已经导致了大量的法律诉讼。

要将这个复杂的主题化繁为简,让我们首先从基础开始: 编辑内容与广告内容之间的区别是什么?


编辑内容图片不应是新闻!

大多数人通常将编辑内容认为是一种“新闻”。 出现在编辑内容中的图片几乎都是用于帮助展示故事的主题。例如,关于名人的文章经常使用包含名人面孔的库存照片,帮助将读者与所撰写人物联系起来。但编辑用途并不局限于报纸和杂志。非小说类书籍、纪录片以及其他具有新闻价值的出版物均需要遵循编辑用途指南。同样,编辑图片也可用于教育目的,比如用在教科书或演示文档中。这里的关键区别在于,编辑性质的图片用于增加故事的可信度,并不用于任何销售目的。

商业照片的核心区别在于,图片中显示的人物已经签署了授权书,在法律上允许自己的肖像出现在商业环境中...

即使有这些严格的编辑标准,在选择照片时仍然有发挥创造力的空间。比如,某出版物要编写有关妮可•基德曼主演的新片《沙漠女王》的影评。为了辅助影评的编写,该出版物可以使用影片中的剧照。但他们也可以选择使用来自最近的电影节或新闻发布会上的基德曼单人照片,比如下面这张照片。

妮可.基德曼,第 65 届德国柏林国际电影节——2015 年 2 月 6 日,动作新闻/REX Shutterstock

尽管这张图片并没有展示所评价的实际影片,但有助于说明女主角,更好地将读者与文章中的名字联系在一起。正因为如此,它仍然符合编辑使用的标准。


生活在物质世界中

了解什么属于广告内容或商业内容时,用“不属于编辑用途的任何内容”来描述最为简单。 商业领域用途涵盖具有推广、销售或营销目的的所有内容。所以很明显,平面广告、电视购物节目以及销售宣传册都属于商业用途。但商业用途远不止广告。您的公司是否有用于帮助推广产品和服务的博客? 这属于商业用途。是否为公司的 Facebook 页面创建封面照片? 这也属于商业用途。无论您的业务是营利性的还是非营利性的,这些规则同样适用。

商业照片的核心区别在于,图片中显示的人物已经签署了授权表,在法律上允许自己的肖像出现在商业环境中,这与公共场合被拍到(有时是在不知情的情况下)的名人或路人不同。

一旦您确定了您的内容属于编辑内容还是商业内容,Shutterstock 便可以很容易地找到满足您需要的照片。按主题搜索,查找您需要的照片。然后,使用“优化您的搜索”链接,选择要显示编辑图片还是非编辑(商业)图片。这可以确保您找到适合自己用途的适当许可照片。

在查找编辑图片或商业图片时是否需要帮助? Shutterstock Premier 提供个性化研究协助,帮助节省您团队的时间和精力。

今天开始让您的创意团队更有创意

标红区域为必填或无效

谢谢

我们已收到您的请求。我们的一位专家将很快与您取得联系。

Editorial vs. Advertising - What’s the Difference?

Finding the perfect photo whether for print or online requires thoughtful deliberation over each image's attributes. But there is one fundamental distinction that needs to be addressed before thinking about which photo has the better lighting or most attractive model. Perhaps the most important way to categorize content is to determine whether it's editorial or a piece of advertising.

But just because the categories appear straightforward, doesn't mean it's always easy to understand which you fall under, and how that impacts your image usage. Missteps in image licensing have launched plenty of legal actions when an unsuspecting person suddenly finds their face in an ad for a company or a cause they don't agree with.

To start breaking down this complex topic, let's start with the basics: What is the difference between editorial and advertising content?


Stop the Presses!

Editorial content typically falls into what most people would consider "news." Images that appear in editorial content are almost always there to help illustrate the topic of the story. For example, articles about celebrities often use stock photos of those famous faces to help connect the reader with the person or people they're writing about. But editorial use isn't limited to newspapers and magazines. Non-fiction books, documentaries, and other newsworthy publications all fall under editorial use guidelines. Likewise, editorial images can also be used for educational purposes, like in textbooks or presentations. The key differentiator here is that editorial images are used to lend credibility to the story, and they are not being used to sell anything.

The core difference in commercial photos is that the people shown in the image have signed a release form that legally allows their likeness to be shown in a commercial context...

Even with these narrow editorial standards, there's still leeway for creativity in photo selection. Let's say a publication is writing a review of the new Nicole Kidman movie Queen of the Desert. To accompany the review, the publication could use a still photo from the movie. But they also have the option to use a standalone photo of Kidman from a recent film festival or press event, like the one below.

Nicole Kidman, 65th Berlinale International Film Festival, Germany – 06 Feb 2015, Action Press/REX Shutterstock

Even though this image doesn't show the actual movie being reviewed, it serves to illustrate the lead actress, and connects readers with the names in the article. Because of this, it still meets editorial-use criteria.


Living in a Material World

Understanding what counts as advertising or commercial content is typically easiest when phrased as "anything that's not editorial." The commercial realm covers everything that is trying to promote, sell, or otherwise market something. So it's obvious that print ads, infomercials, and sales brochures count as commercial use. But commercial use goes far beyond just advertisements. Does your company have a blog that helps promote your products and services? That's commercial. Creating a cover photo for your company's Facebook page? That's commercial, too. And these rules apply equally whether your business operates as a for-profit or nonprofit.

The core difference in commercial photos is that the people shown in the image have signed a release form that legally allows their likeness to be shown in a commercial context, unlike celebrities or passersby being photographed (sometimes without their knowledge) at public events.

Once you've identified whether your content is editorial or commercial, Shutterstock makes it easy to find the photos that meet your needs. Search by topic or subject to find the image you need. Then, use the "Refine Your Search" link to select whether you want to see Editorial or Non-Editorial (Commercial) images. This ensures you'll find a photo with the proper licensing available for your usage.

Need help finding editorial or commercial images? Shutterstock Premier offers personalized research assistance to save your team time and effort.

See how we can help your team

Fields marked in red are required or invalid

Thank you

We've received your request. One of our specialists will be in touch soon.