那么到底什么是视觉网络? 品牌营销者有自己的说法

到目前为止,所有数字营销人员都了解视觉营销的价值。将图片加入网站、数字营销材料、以及社交媒体策略中会提高参与度和在线分享。研究表明,我们处理图片的速度比文字快 60,000 倍,而视觉可以提升我们的学习能力高达 400%。

但是究竟什么是视觉网络? 它是源于社交网络吗? 以移动技术驱动? 或者它可能只是广告商为与广告盲区斗争而创造的概念? 结果来看,它是以上所有这些——并且更多。

视觉网络无处不在

并不难发觉视觉网络正在“改变着媒体和广告的一切。”去年夏天,当白宫修改了它的政策以允许游人在参观期间拍照和自拍时,这一概念为它自己赢得了一场“胜利”。“你无法改变或抗拒这一切,”哈佛大学首席数字官员就此事件评论道。“白宫在做的正是我们一直以来告诉品牌要去做的...将视觉内容和不同的声音结合起来,然后去讲品牌的故事。”

品牌,似乎正在倾听。正如 eMarketer 公司的研究所显示,90% 的营销人员如今认为视觉元素“对于他们的日常营销活动来说是重要的”,而接近 70% 的人则认为是”非常重要的。“ 当被问及接下来六个月以上的计划时,74% 的人表示他们倾向于使用视频,71% 的人将尝试自定义图片,而约 62% 的品牌营销人员则将把更多的库存图片集成于他们的营销程序中。

这种表现很大程度上要归因于使用图片来与在线客户取得交流的有效性。例如,带有图片的 Twitter 消息可以获得比不带图片的消息多 35% 的转发

视觉网络的“金钱与理智”

根据相关统计,视觉网络从 2013 年起已成为价值”十亿美元的潮流“。它假定包含了像 Instagram、Pinterest 和Tumblr 这样基于图片的社交网站。

当然,社交媒体对于视觉网络的爆发式增长贡献巨大。只要看下 Facebook 便知。除了图片和视频,社交网络还有很大一部分是表情——Facebook 和 Facebook Messenger 用户在他们更新博文或发表评论的时候可以使用的图片和动画,并且可以在聊天中发给朋友。

鉴于其风靡程度,Facebook 甚至和广告商合作推出电影和品牌的定制表情。2013年,Facebook 为环球影业的影片“卑鄙的我 2 ”推出了第一个品牌定制表情包,此后又相继推出乐高和诸如“糖果粉碎传奇“和”割绳子“之类的手机游戏表情包。

事实是,视觉网络有多种形式,从博客和社交网络到移动版网站,因为每一种渠道都完美地适用于承载可视化内容。

今年早些时候,社交网站的 EMEA 区总裁 尼古拉.门德尔森在谈到表情时说,“把这一现象认为是 LOL 的下一次迭代,图片已经取代文字成为将情绪传达给私人观众的方式。” 也就是说,像这样的数字表情可以使消费者更容易交流,而不必使用文字,并且为互联网用户提供一个可以使用有趣而流行的文化符号来为他们的谈话增光添彩的机会。

在谈到日益突出的网络动画时,门德尔森也强调了消费者极快的生活节奏和我们每天面对的各种流媒体所扮演的角色。要获得在线的关注,大部分的业务都将文字转换为图片,如果一条信息可以被有效地转换为一张图片,而图片只需要几秒钟就可以查看,那么品牌就可以在他们潜在的客户面前展示更多的信息。emoji 表情的流行就是一个典型的案例。在刚刚过去的这个万圣节,当必胜客在 Twitter 上发布图片时,它选择了用 emoji 表情来替代文字。不仅信息非常清晰——万圣节和披萨完美匹配——而且它几乎不需要时间就可以理解。这一简单的策略为这家连锁餐馆赢得了超过 160 次的转发和近 500 次的点赞。视觉网络因而也被叫做“快餐化”。它很容易消化。

求同存异

尽管在视觉网络中投入不少,但营销人员在定义它的时候却容易产生分歧。一项由基于图像的数字市场营销平台 GumGum 所进行的最新调查发现,26% 的美国品牌认为视觉网络是一个“由智能手机摄像头和图片分享网站的崛起而带来的社交媒体现象,”而 19% 的品牌则认为它是一种与移动技术和缩小的屏幕尺寸相关的用户体验。然而,其他品牌将其归于讲故事,浸入式广告,数据科学,或搜索的人性亲和力的表现。

有趣的是,超过 55% 的受访销售人员赞成以上所有观点。

事实是,视觉网络有多种形式,从博客和社交网络到移动版网站,因为每一种渠道都完美地适用于承载可视化内容。营销人员也许在如何对它进行描述有所分歧,但他们都认识到了它的重要性。

这是显而易见的。

了解我们可如何为您的团队提供帮助

标红区域为必填或无效

谢谢

我们已收到您的请求。我们的一位专家将很快与您取得联系。

What Is the Visual Web, Anyway? Brand Marketers Have Their Say

By now all digital marketers understand the value of visual marketing. Incorporating photography into sites, digital marketing materials, and social media strategies increases engagement and online shares. Research has shown that we process images 60,000 times faster than text, and that visuals can improve our ability to learn by up to 400%.

But what exactly is the visual web? Is it born of social networking? Driven by mobile? Or could it be a concept created by advertisers to combat banner blindness? As it turns out, it's all of these things—and more.

The Visual Web is Everywhere

It isn't hard to dig up declarations that the visual web is "changing everything in media and advertising." Last summer, the concept earned itself a "victory" when the White House modified its policy to allow visitors to take photos and selfies while on tour. "You can't change or fight this," Harvard University's Chief Digital Officer said of the event. "The White House is doing what we tell brands to do all the time... use visual content to engage different voices as brand storytellers."

Brands, it appears, are listening. As recently reported by research company eMarketer, 90% of marketers now believe visual elements are "important to their daily marketing functions," while close to 70% called them "very important." When asked about their plans for the next six months+, 74% said they intend to use video, 71% will try custom photography, and nearly 62% of brand marketers will integrate more stock photography into their marketing programs.

This response is due in large part to the effectiveness of using images to connect with consumers online. For example, posts to Twitter that feature photos can earn 35% more retweets than tweets that don't.

Dollars and Sense of the Visual Web

By some accounts, the visual web has been a "billion dollar trend" since 2013. This assumes that it's primarily comprised of image­based social sites like Instagram, Pinterest, and Tumblr.

Certainly, social media is contributing to the visual web's colossal growth. Just look at Facebook. Aside from photos and videos, the social network has bet big on stickers—images and animations that Facebook and Facebook Messenger users can post in their updates and comments, and send to friends in chats.

Driven by their popularity, Facebook has even partnered with advertisers to create custom stickers for movies and brands. In 2013, it launched its first branded sticker collection for Universal Pictures' "Despicable Me 2," and has since done the same for LEGO and mobile games such as Candy Crush and Cut the Rope.

The fact is, the visual web takes many forms, from blogs and social networks to mobile sites, because each of these channels is perfectly suited to hosting visual content.

Earlier this year, the social network's EMEA chief Nicola Mendelsohn said of the stickers, "Think of this as the next iteration of LOL, where images have replaced words as a way of telegraphing emotions to a private audience." In other words, digital stickers like these are making it easier for consumers to communicate without text, while offering Internet users an opportunity to enhance their conversations with fun pop culture references.

In discussing the growing prominence of web animations, Mendelsohn also underscored the part played by the "breakneck" pace of consumer life and the constant stream of media we all face every day. In an effort to garner attention online, businesses have largely traded text for images; if a message can be effectively transmitted through a picture that takes mere seconds to view, brands can get more information in front of potential customers. The popularity of emojis is an ideal example. This past Halloween, when Pizza Hut posted an image to Twitter, it opted to substitute text with emojis. Not only was the message clear—Halloween and pizza are a perfect fit—but also it took no time at all to receive. The simple strategy earned the restaurant chain more than 160 Retweets and nearly 500 Favorites. Visual content is called "snackable" for a reason. It's much easier to digest.

Agree to Disagree

Despite their investments in the visual web, marketers are divided when it comes to defining it. A recent survey conducted by image­based digital marketing platform GumGum found that 26% of US brands consider the visual web a "social media phenomenon derived from cameras on smartphones and the rise of photo sharing sites," while 19% say it's a user experience related to mobile and shrinking screen sizes. Still, others attribute it to humanity's affinity for telling stories, native advertising, data science, or search.

Interestingly, more than 55% of marketers polled believe it's all of the above.

The fact is, the visual web takes many forms, from blogs and social networks to mobile sites, because each of these channels is perfectly suited to hosting visual content. Marketers may not agree on how to describe it, but they do align on its importance.

That much is easy to see.

Empower your creative workforce today

Fields marked in red are required or invalid

Thank you

We've received your request. One of our specialists will be in touch soon.